Blog,  Laws Of The Game,  video

What to do if a goalscorer has lost is shoe?

Alessandro Matri scores the 2-0 for Juventus against Fiorentina. But he lost his shoe right before he kicks on goal.

What does the referee have to decide if a a player scores a goal with after he lost his footwear? Answer below video.

This it what the Laws of the Game say about such situations:

If a player loses his footwear accidentally and immediately plays the ball and/or scores a goal, there is no infringement and the goal is awarded because he lost his footwear by accident.

Good decision by referee Paolo Silvio Mazzoleni.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.