Blog,  LOTG Quiz

Week 18 Laws of the Game Quiz 2018-2019

The new quiz is live. It’s week 18 Laws of the Game Quiz 2018-2019. How do you like the quizzes so far?

Thanks all for participating.

An interesting one this week. How would you handle in the following situation? A player is in offside position at the moment of the pass in his direction. At the moment he is challenging an opponent for the ball an offence is committed against him, when a defender pulls his shirt. What does the referee decide?

Good luck with the full quiz.

Assistant referee

Take the quiz


  • Dan C. Heldman

    With all due respect, I disagree with your answer to the question about offside and an offense committed against the offside offender. In ordinary English, “at the same time” means simultaneous. Note in particular that the Law citation language makes it clear that the two critical events were not simultaneous and that is why the Law’s “answer” is, while obviously correct, not pertinent to your scenario. Since the offside offense and the shirt pull were simultaneous, the Law provides that we select the offense and its restart that was the more serious. Thus, the correct answer is a DFK/PK against the player who pulled the shirt.

    • Jan ter Harmsel

      Thanks for the comment, Dan. But that is not what the LOTG say. “an offence is committed against a player in an offside position who is already playing or attempting to play the ball, or challenging an opponent for the ball, the offside offence is penalised as it has occurred before the foul challenge.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.