Alessandro Matri scores the 2-0 for Juventus against Fiorentina. But he lost his shoe right before he kicks on goal. What does the referee have to decide if a a player scores a goal with after he lost his footwear? Answer below video. This it what the Laws of the Game say about such situations: If a player loses his footwear accidentally and immediately plays the ball and/or scores a goal, there is no infringement and the goal is awarded because he lost his footwear by accident. Good decision by referee Paolo Silvio Mazzoleni.