Answer: 46 is max number of cards before abandoning game

Here’s the answer of the question: How many cards can a referee give to active players during a competition match on highest amateur level before he needs to abandon the match?

The correct answer is C.

The explanation. I got questions about the number of substitutes. That is three.

A referee could book all players from both teams: 2 x 11 = 22 yellows. Then the coaches could use substitues and all substitues could get booked as well. Plus 6 yellows = 28 yellows. From each side 4 players can receive a second yellow + following red. This ads 8 players x 2 cards (= 16). Add this to the previous 28 and it makes 44. The next time a player receives yellow (and subsequently red [cards 45 and 46]) the game has to be abandoned because one team has less than 7 players.

Someone mentioned that there could be in incident after 44 card for which the referee has to send off more than one player with his second yellow. Fact is that the referee needs to abondon the match after giving the 46th card. Other cards have no influence anymore, because the referee “needs to abondon the match” at 46.

Bluff penalty kick fails and goalie saves the ball

Penalty takers try to mislead the goalie very often, but not all tricks work out as they were meant. Have a look at this bluff penalty.

Don’t know the league or competition, but that’s not important if I want to explain the rules of the game. UPDATE: check comment from Laszlo Sipos below for more information about the match.

The football Laws of the Game by Fifa state that ‘the player taking the kick must be properly identified’. For the viewer’s it’s at least not clear who’s going to take the kick.

UPDATE: At first, I quoted the Laws of the Game that this is a case where ‘a teammate infringes the football rules’. In that case:

  • the referee allows the kick to be taken
  • if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
  • if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the defending team, from the place where the infringement occurred

But there’s an USSF Referee Memorandum which mentions an exception. In USSF Advice to Referees, Law 14, section 14.9 (pdf). It reads:

“If an attacker other than the identified kicker takes the penalty kick, play is restarted with an indirect free kick for the opposing team where the attacker illegally entered the penalty arc or penalty area, regardless of the outcome of any kick that may have been performed by this attacker.”

I can’t find this in a Dutch advices, but Rafal, an USSF National/Professional Referee (see his comments below), checked with the U.S, Soccer’s Referee Education Resources Advisor who answers all questions about the Laws of the Game. He says the advice is valid for all countries. Now I’m wondering why not all FA’s release the same advice.

Offside or just a stupid own goal?

Zanetti had a big smile on his face after he kicked the ball hard behind his own goalie. Just couldn’t stop laughing about this stupid action.

But what he didn’t know that the goal in the match Parma – Inter didn’t count. Referee Antonio Giannoccaro took over the signal of his assistant Claudio La Rocca, who made an offside call for the attacker close to Zanetti.

What would you say: stupid action by the defender or correct call by the assistant because the attacker is influencing Zanetti’s play although he didn’t touch the ball?

Re-re-re-re-retake the penalty kick, please

This referee let’s the penalty kick retaken over and over again. Players won’t stop complaining, isn’t he just strictly applying the rules?

Teammates of the taker and as well as opponents infringe the Laws of the Game. Mostly by moving into the penalty area (or 9,15m circle) too soon. But also take a look at the goalkeeper during the penalty kick he saved. He moves forward to fast and is way in front of the goalline when the attacker actually kicks the ball.

Anyone an idea why the goal from the before last kick is not allowed? Last week, I’ve started a discussion about giving a yellow for players who pull off their shirt at amateur level. Anyone experiences with this situation? What’s your ‘record’ of retaken penalties in a row or do you just let it go?

Original Laws Of The Game sold for £881,250

The original Laws Of The Game (LATG) have been sold for £881,250 at an auction.

The Rules, Regulations, & Laws of the Sheffield Foot‐Ball Club (1859). Photo by Sotheby’s

The anonymous bidder gets the unique handwritten rules of 1858 and the only known surviving copy of the only known surviving copy of the printed Rules, Regulations, & Laws of the Sheffield Foot‐Ball Club (1859). Both documents are part of the archive of world’s oldest football club Sheffield FC.

Sotheby’s description of the document: “The 1858 rules promoted a passing game played with the feet, and
included the free kick, throw‐in, goal kick, restrictions on handling the ball, and the banning of “hacking or tripping”. The code built on earlier football rules (most importantly from Cambridge University and certain public schools) but developed independently, had a huge impact on the development of the game in the twenty years that followed.”

The rules as published in 1859:

  1. Kick off from the middle must be a place kick.
  2. Kick out must not be from more than 25 yards out of goal.
  3. Fair Catch is a catch from any player, provided the Ball was not touched to the ground, or has not been thrown direct from touch, and entitles to a free kick.
  4. Charging is fair in case of a place kick (with the exception of a kick off) as soon as the player offers to kick, but he may always draw back, unless he has actually touched the Ball with his foot.
  5. Pushing with the hands is allowed, but no hacking or tripping up is fair under any circumstances whatsoever.
  6. No player may be held or pulled over.
  7. It is not lawfull to take the Ball off the ground (except in touch) for any purpose whatsoever.
  8. The Ball may be pushed or hit with the hand, but holding the Ball (except in the case of a fair kick is altogether disallowed.
  9. A goal must be kicked, but not from touch, nor by a free kick from a catch.
  10. A Ball in touch is dead, consequently the side that touches it down must bring it to the edge of touch, and throw it straight out at least six yards from touch.
  11. That each player must provide himself with a red and dark blue fannel cap. One colour to be worn by each side during play.

Fifa: ‘Penalty via bar, ground & in goal = goal’

Fifa has announced that a goal should be allowed when a penalty kick – as last action of a half or in a shoutout – is shot on the bar, then touches the ground and crosses the goal line. That’s why the Dutch Football Association KNVB has announced a new interpretation of the Laws of the game for next season.

Last weeks many referees discussed the match Dro and Termeno in Italian football. The referee allowed a goal. It now turns out he was correct, according to Fifa.

In 2009 the Dutch referee commission announced that a goal should not been allowed in the situation above. The PK situation was over when the ball touches the ground after been shot at the bar, was their interpretation. But they had some doubts about it and asked Fifa. That’s why they announced new interpretations for 2011/2012 (pdf). The Dutch FA stresses: “The rules have not changed, it’s just our interpretation.”

The Dutch Referee Blog will soon move over to I’ll keep you posted.

Red card in a friendly: yes or no?

Last weekend I watched a friendly match and the referee didn’t give a card. In my opinion he could give at least one direct red card.

Should players not be booked for an offence because it’s a friendly? Should referees change their match policy in non-official matches? Do you see it more often that the man in black doesn’t show a red card in a such matches? Let me know what you think. Red or yellow card in a friendly: yes or no? (and why)