Alessandro Matri scores the 2-0 for Juventus against Fiorentina. But he lost his shoe right before he kicks on goal. What does the referee have to decide if a a player scores a goal with after he lost his footwear? Answer below video. This it what the Laws of the Game say about such situations: If a player loses his footwear accidentally and immediately plays the ball and/or scores a goal, there is no infringement and the goal is awarded because he lost his footwear by accident. Good decision by referee Paolo Silvio Mazzoleni.
An extra assistant referee in the Italian match between Juventus and Genua was standing on the backline and keeps the ball in play. Claudio Marchisio shoots the ball, but it missed the target completely. But it touches the extra assistant referee who’s standing on the edge of the goal area just on the goal line. The assistant referee still flags for a goal kick. Did referee Marco Guida and his team make a mistake? The Laws of the Game state that: The ball is out of play when: • it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air That’s not a…