Referee gets ball right in his face

A referee in the match between German teams SV Sandhausen and VfR Aalen gets the ball in his face.

The referee whistled for a foul and the player was taking the freekick very quickly. He shot the referee, who was standing close-by right in his face. You can see the referee whistled after he was hit by the ball.

How would you handle the situation? Would you give a red card for kick the ball against the referee’s head?

http://youtu.be/YvwjqSF1MHg

In the Laws of the Game there’s some info about taking a free-kick quickly:

“If a player decides to take a free kick quickly and an opponent who is less than 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball intercepts it, the referee must allow play to continue.”

And: “If a player decides to take a free kick quickly and an opponent who is near the ball deliberately prevents him taking the kick, the referee must caution the player for delaying the restart of play.”

It says nothing about kicking the ball against the referee. Good suggestion by @youthsoccerref:

8 thoughts on “Referee gets ball right in his face

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.