A new case study: “Offside when defender leaves field of play”. CSKA think they score a goal, but does it count?
A screenshot from the situation. To give some extra info: the player in black right in front of the goalie touches the ball.
What is your call?
I hope you made that call right now. The video clips on YouTube and other websites are vague or can’t be embedded. The pic is much better, but I will show you the full situation now. What’s your verdict? (Explanation below)
And, still the same verdict?
Defender leaves field of play: what do the LOTG say?
The Laws of the Game are very clear on how to handle in these situations, but did you know this?
“A defending player who leaves the field of play without the referee’s permission shall be considered to be on the goal line or touchline for the purposes of offside until the next stoppage in play or until the defending team has played the ball towards the halfway line and it is outside their penalty area.”
And the LOTG also add. “If the player left the field of play deliberately, the player must be cautioned when the ball is next out of play.” In this situation the yellow card doesn’t apply, because Blind went out of play in action.