No offside because of deliberate play. That is how Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL) judges the penalty and offside incident in the game between Liverpool and Tottenham. Jon Moss gets it right, but what can you learn from this match incident? A case study.
PGMOL statement supports referee Moss
“Jon Moss was in a good position to see that a Liverpool player deliberately played the ball before it fell to Harry Kane in the penalty area”, is mentioned in a statement by the PGMOL, cited by lots of newspapers. “He then correctly judged that Kane was fouled by Lorius [sic] Karius. However, given the speed of the attack he was uncertain of the identity of the Liverpool player who kicked the ball.”
Watch the situation
The deliberate pass is not the most clear hear, but this video got something I want to show you. It’s Jon Moss talking with his assistant referee Eddie Smart.
PGMOL continues their statement. “Eddie Smart, having identified that Kane was in an offside position, correctly sought clarification on whether Dejan Lovren had deliberately played the ball.”
In the video you’ll see some confusion, because Moss is not sure which Liverpool player touches the ball. “Moss knew a Liverpool player had touched the ball, but not that it was Lovren.” Moss asks 4th official Martin Atkinson what he sees on tv, but he can’t watch tv footage. PGMLOL ensures Atkinson has not acted as a VAR. He also gives no advice about what to do.
Difficult series of decisions
After the talk with Eddie Smart, Moss is sure. There is no offside because of deliberate play by a Liverpool defender. That is why he awarded a penalty. “In real time this was a difficult series of decisions which the match officials judged correctly in recognising that Kane was not offside, as Lovren had deliberately played the ball, and he was fouled for the award of the penalty kick”, says PGMOL.
And this is crucial for your definition as referee:
“The interpretation of “deliberately” kicking a ball considers whether a player has intentionally tried to kick a ball. It does not consider whether the ball ends up where a player may have wanted to kick it.”
No deliberate save
This was clearly a miskick, but the ball ends somewhere else. The Laws of the Game add something. “A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save by any opponent) is not considered to have gained an advantage.”
The defender is a few metres outside of his own penalty area. The LOTG only talk about a “save” when “a player stops, or attempts to stop, a ball which is going into or very close to the goal with any part of the body except the hands/arms.”
A defender outside the box is not very close to the goal, so this is not a deliberate save. Correct call by Jon Moss.
Also wrote another story about offside and the responsibility of the referee.