Blog,  case study

Great example: no offside after deliberate play

LOTG: no offside after deliberate play of the ballTheory in the Laws Of The Game is not always clear. That’s why referees need examples to see what a situation really means. Title of this case study: no offside after deliberate play.

The “new” offside rule is two years old. But not every referee or player is familiar with it. Check out the video in the tweet below. It is the perfect example of a player who was in offside position when his team-mate played the ball. But because the defender deliberately played the ball, a new situation occurs. That’s why the attacker is no longer in offside position.

The Laws of the Game are clear on this: “A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent, who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save), is not considered to have gained an advantage.”

Great piece of refereeing to count that goal.

Do you ever have problems with players who don’t understand the offside rule?


  • 3rdBlindMouse

    Jan, be careful here…you’re contradicted yourself:
    “That’s why the attacker is no longer in offside position, although he gained advantange from his position.” but you quote LotG “…is not considered to have gained an advantage.” This can be confusing to people who don’t know the LotG as well as we do.
    Sorry to be a pest. 😉
    But, GREAT EXAMPLE – this is how the law is supposed to be applied! Coaches and players, please learn this and stop giving me or my assistants abuse. lol

    • Jan ter Harmsel

      Good point! Deleted that part so it’s clearnow. Love to have people respond and help me get better stories.

  • Christopher Berena

    Question on how you would interpret this situation: the attacking team tries to play a pass into a teammate in an offside position. The defender attempts to intercept the pass, miscontrols their first touch, and the ball continues to the attacker who was in an offside position at the time of the pass. Is that player offside or not in your opinion.

    • Jan ter Harmsel

      Just an addition based on current laws: deliberate pass from the defender (outcome not relevant), so new situation. That means: no offside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.