Blog,  Laws Of The Game

Extra assistant referee keeps ball in play

An extra assistant referee in the Italian match between Juventus and Genua was standing on the backline and keeps the ball in play.

Claudio Marchisio shoots the ball, but it missed the target completely. But it touches the extra assistant referee who’s standing on the edge of the goal area just on the goal line. The assistant referee still flags for a goal kick.

Italian extra assistant referee keeps the ball in play.
Italian extra assistant referee keeps the ball in play. Photo: screenshot Sport 1 (go to video: – maybe only for Dutch viewers because of country restrictions)

Did referee Marco Guida and his team make a mistake?

The Laws of the Game state that:

The ball is out of play when:
• it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air

That’s not a fact. The rules also say the following.

Ball in play
The ball is in play at all other times, including when:
• it rebounds off a goalpost, crossbar or corner fl agpost and remains in the field of play
• it rebounds off either the referee or an assistant referee when they are on the field of play

The assistand on the sideline made the wrong call, by flagging for a goal kick, because the extra assistant referee was on the field of play.

The match ended in 1-1 and Italian media are discussing the referee. Not because of this incident, but because he didn’t give a penalty against Genua say the journalists, who state that referee Guida is a Naples supporter – the rivals of Genua.


  • Arjan

    The question is…would holding strictly to the rules have made for a GOOD (game wise) decission? I don’t think so. I’m not a referee (nor do I know too much about the rules) but I’d say this was a case to bend the rules stated above. It almost looked like the assistant referee stepped in, he should’ve stepped out of the way…(of course easier said than done).

  • azds1492

    Arjan – I personally agree with you but one of the main problems is the assessor in the stand would mark a referee down for that potentially costing them a good assessment. Would you put yourself on the line for sake of someone else?

    • Arjan

      I know…haha. They should’ve done it by the book, but these kind of things should tell people that such a rule might have to be changed (a bit) since it’s a bit stupid 😛

      Is there a yearly evaluation where people suggest situations like this to change certain rules??

    • jan (administrator)

      @Errol, don’t know if you can see the video (there maybe country restrictions), but then you’ll see game goes on, but AR flags – a bit late – for goal kick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.