Blog,  Laws Of The Game

Assistant referee keeps ball in play

The Dutch commentator was wondering why play was still going on, but here’s a perfect example of an assistant referee who touches the ball when it’s in play.

He’s no so-called outside agent, so the game should go on. See video of situation in EC qualifier between Finland and The Netherlands below.

Such thing happened a few weeks ago in a match in one of the British lower leagues, but I can’t find it back. The referee was on the sideline and ball bounced via him to the defending team. They started a couter-attack and scored. Ever experienced that?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.